Mort

Hello Everyone and welcome back to the Boss Book Club!

Today I will be starting my reviews of the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. The Discworld fantasy series consists of a total of 40 books: the first which was released in 1983 called The Colour of Magic. The 41st book of the series, titled The Shepherd’s Crown is due for release in late August/ early September and, as Mr Pratchett passed away in March of this year, will be the final book of the series. 41 books over a period of 30 years is an incredible achievement, and I know Terry Pratchett has a lot of fans. As someone who is completely new to the series and the author, I am excited to give him a read.

The first thing you have to decide when jumping into the Discworld series is where you want to begin. The books are divided into different sections including: Rincewind novels, young adult novels, science novels, ancient civilisations, death novels, watch novels and industrial revolution novels. You can choose to either read from the order in which they were published and read through to the present, or alternatively jump to the theme which interests you the most and read all the books in that section first. To help explain, here’s a website that has a nice flow chart of all the books, and the order in which you can read them by interest: http://io9.com/how-to-read-terry-pratchetts-discworld-series-in-one-h-1567312812.

I have a bit of a morbid personality so I decided to jump into the “Death” novels, which consist of four books, the first of which is called Mort. I opted to buy the hardcover edition which is beautiful. It’s hard to glean from the picture but the scythe and stars are silver foil so the cover has a nice shine when you move it in the light. It contains a little cloth page placeholder in dark blue which is great if you’re constantly losing your bookmarks, as I tend to do!

The story itself is fun: good old fashioned, giggle out loud, adventurous fun, which is enjoyable from beginning to end. The story revolves around an awkward 16 year old, red- haired, gangly teenager named Mort, who is looking for a job. He is hired by the grim reaper as his personal assistant. This book follows Mort’s adventures as he acts as Death’s apprentice and the various people he meets through this rather interesting line of work! The story is light hearted, and full of comedy and vibrant characters. It never takes itself too seriously, and the story moves at an excellent pace. It reflects on life and death, and leaves you feeling a bit better about the whole death business as it takes aware the fear and replaces it with a sense of humour and adventure.

An interesting feature of Pratchett’s work is that he does not divide the book into chapters, so you leave off on the adventure whenever you like (and that little blue cloth placeholder really does come in handy!). This book’s primary audience is probably aimed at young adult, but at 27 years old I still greatly enjoyed myself. At the end of it I immediately went out to buy the next one- sometimes it’s good to be late to the literary party, I now have the other 39 at my disposal without having to wait for any releases! I am greatly looking forward to reading the next one…

Have you read Terry Pratchett? Are you interested in the Discworld series? Please leave your comments below.

My next Terry Pratchett review will be up next Sunday night, and we’ll be looking at Reaper Man, the follow on to Mort. If you’ve ever considered reading or re-reading the series, feel free to read along with us!

Until next week, happy reading and welcome to The Boss book club!

 

13 thoughts on “Mort

  1. Great review! I have been hearing such good things about Pratchett and Discworld for years but, as a fan of sci-fi and fantasy, have never gotten to them (I didn’t even ready the Dune series until last year . . .). You’ve made me want to pick this one up. Hope the others live up to it!

    Like

    • That’s ok, fantasy is not for everyone! If you prefer more realistic titles maybe give The Narrow Road to the Deep North a try? (The first novel I reviewed). That was an excellent story that I think had something for everyone!

      Like

  2. Hi, Bec. I really enjoyed reading your review of Mort. It’s a ‘fun’ book, for people of any age. One of my daughters was in a production of it at uni some years ago, and she’s a real Pratchett fan. I love reading book reviews and write some myself on Goodreads and Amazon (whenever I can find the time!). I’ll look forward to reading your next one. Millie 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the follow Millie, I’m very grateful. A stage production of Pratchett would be great to see, the characters are so vibrant I’m sure the actors would have a great time too! Best of luck with your review writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

